My review for What’s a soulmate by Lindsey Ouimet

2 stars

Great world, Bad romance.

Here is a brief synopsis of What’s a soulmate

Libby Carmichael has just met her Soulmate. It’s just too bad he’s behind bars.

When you only see the world in black and white until you meet yours, it’s pretty easy to figure out when you’ve found your Soulmate. What Libby can’t figure out is why fate,destiny, or the powers that be have decided that Andrew McCormack is her one, true match. Libby is smart, organized, and always has a plan for what’s coming next. So when she sees Andrew for the first time and her world is instantly filled with color, she’s thrown for a loop.

Namely because he’s in a dingy grey jumpsuit.

And handcuffs.

And being booked into a juvenile detention facility.

Surely a boy who’s been convicted of a headline-making, violent crime isn’t who she’s meant to be with. There’s no way she belongs with someone like that…right?

2.5 stars

To cut to the chase, I felt that although Ouimet have a very cool and unique description, when I started reading I felt that it was just about the same as every other YA forbidden romance I’ve read. Maybe it’s because I’m not a 15 year old anymore but I felt like the heroine was immature and I couldn’t really connect with any of the characters enough to even care about them or what was even going on in the story which, of course was a real bummer.

I also didn’t really enjoy that there was no diversity in this novel at all. There were no POC, LGBT and I wasn’t a big fan of the insta-love but maybe that was my fault because after all the book is about soulmates.

I thought the color blindness was a bit problematic. Basically, until you see your soulmate you see in black in white. Once you set eyes upon your soulmate everything is bursting with color. I did like however that your soulmate did not need to be a lover..it could have been a friend, setting eyes upon your newborn, you can also have more than one soulmate and you may also not be the soulmate for your soulmate.

I didn’t feel like Libby was a good friend to Beth and I felt that if they’re had been a better friendship between the two of them.

I did really like the parents story although I didn’t feel they were invested enough in the story.

I didn’t really care for Andrew but there were times when I did and I was starting to like the romance and then it would just fall flat.

It had a real fairy tale vibe at the end which was okay, but I personally wasn’t a fan.

Would I recommend? I would say depending on the person and I feel this book is intended for younger readers.

Final thoughts: Over all I felt that the writing and story had a lot of potential but it was just okay. I didn’t really feel that the hero being a prison inmate was that big of a deal and It was just another YA romance that we have all read before witch two white heterosexual love interests with a pretty book cover. 

*Thank you NetGalley for providing me with an arc in exchange for an honest review*